COUNTIES IN NEW MEXICO

Church records are kept my county. New Mexico now has 33 counties but, as you will see in the following table, county lines have changed since 1852.

)?
•
ounty)
•
een called
~
S
nties

DATE	COUNTY	
CREATED	NAME	WHEN WAS THE COUNTY ESTABLISHED?
25 Feb 1919	Hidalgo	Formed from part of Grant county
25 Feb 1921	Catron	Formed from part of Socorro county
4 Mar 1921	Harding	Formed from parts of Mora and Union counties
16 Mar 1949	Los Alamos	Formed from parts of Sandoval and Santa Fe counties
19 Jun 1981	Cibola	Formed from parts of Valencia, Socorro, McKinley and Catron counties